2012 Cannes Official Selection | CloneDVD Blog
Dedicated to the Work on CloneDVD, DVD Copy software, DVD Ripper, DVD Creator, Video Converter, and DVD Player since 2003
Home »Blog » CloneDVD News » 2012 Cannes Official Selection

2012 Cannes Official Selection

Here is the 2012 Cannes Official Selection

Opening film: Moonrise Kingdom, Wes Anderson, USA

Amour (Love), Michael Haneke, France, Austria, and Germany
Baad el Mawkeaa (After the Battle), Yousry Nasrallah, Egypt
După dealuri (Beyond the Hills), Cristian Mungiu, Romania
Cosmopolis, David Cronenberg, France, Canada, Portugal, and Italy
다른 나라에서 Da-reun Na-ra-e-suh (In Another Country), Hong Sangsoo, South Korea
De Rouille et d’Os (Rust & Bone), Jacques Audiard, Belgium and France
돈의 맛 Do-nui Mat (The Taste of Money), Im Sang-soo, South Korea
Holy Motors, Leos Carax, France
В тумане V Tumane (In the Fog), Sergei Loznitsa, Germany, Netherlands, Belarus, Russia and Latvia
Jagten (The Hunt), Thomas Vinterberg, Denmark
Killing Them Softly, Andrew Dominik, USA
Lawless, John Hillcoat, USA
ライク・サムワン・イン・ラブ Like Someone in Love, Abbas Kiarostami, France and Japan
Mud, Jeff Nichols, USA
On The Road, Walter Salles, France, UK and USA
Paradies: Liebe (Paradise: Love), Ulrich Seidl, Germany, France and Austria
Post Tenebras Lux, Carlos Reygadas, Mexico, France, and Netherlands
Reality, Matteo Garrone, Italy and France (is this Big House?)
The Angels’ Share, Ken Loach, UK and France
The Paperboy, Lee Daniels, USA
Vous N’Avez Encore Rien Vu (You Ain’t Seen Nothin’ Yet), Alain Resnais, France

Out of Competition
Closing film: Thérèse Desqueyroux, Claude Miller, France
Io e Te (Me and You), Bernardo Bertolucci, Italy
Madagascar 3, Europe’s Most Wanted, Eric Darnell and Tom McGrath, USA
Heminway & Gellhorn, Philip Kaufman, USA

The Jury
President: Nanni Moretti, director, actor and producer, Italy
Hiam Abbass, actress, Palestine
Andrea Arnold, director and scriptwriter, UK
Emmanuelle Devos, actress, France
Diane Kruger, actress, France
Jean Paul Gaultier, designer, France
Ewan McGregor, actor, UK
Alexander Payne, director, scriptwriter and producer, USA
Raoul Peck, director scriptwriter and producer, Haiti

Un Certain Regard
Closing Ceremony: Renoir, Gilles Bourdos, France
7 Dias en la Habana, 7 directors: Benicio del Toro, Pablo Trapero, Julio Medem, Elia Suleiman, Juan Carlos Tabio,, Gaspard Noé, and Laurent Cantet, France and Spain
11・25自決の日 三島由紀夫と若者たち11•25 jiketsu no hi: Mishima Yukio to wakamono-tachi (11.25 The Day he Chose his own Fate), Kôji Wakamatsu, Japan
*Antiviral, Brandon Cronenberg, Canada and USA
A Perdre La raison (aka Aimer à perdre la raison) (Loving without Reason), Joachim Lafosse, Belgium, Luxembourg, France, and Switzerland
*Beasts of the Southern Wild, Benh Zeitlin, USA
Confession of a Child of the Century, Sylvie Verheyde, France
Después de Lucía, Michel Franco, Mexico
Djeca (Children), Aida Begić, Bosnia Herzegovina
Elefante Blanco (White Elephant), Pablo Trapero, Argentina and Spain
*Gimme the Loot, Adam Leon, USA
*La Playa, Juan Andrés Arango, Colombia
La Pirogue (The Pirogue), Moussa Touré, Senegal and France
Laurence Anyways, Xavier Dolan, Canada and France
Le Grand Soir, Benoît Delépine and Gustave Kervern, France
Les Chevaux de Dieu (God’s Horses), Nabil Ayouch, France, Morocco, Tunisia (?)
Miss Lovely, Ashim Ahluwalia, India
Mystery, Lou Ye, China
Student, Darezhan Omirbayev, Kazakhstan and France
Trois Monde, Catherine Corsini, France

Un Certain Regard Jury
President: Tim Roth, actor and director, UK
Leïla Bekhti, actress, France
Tonie Marshall, director and Producer, France
Luciano Monteagudo, cinema critic, Argentina
Sylvie Pras, Head of Cinemas at Centre Pompidou and Artistic Director of La Rochelle Film Festival

Special Screenings
A Música Segundo Tom Jobim, Nelson Pereira Dos Santos, Brazil
Der Müll Im Garten Eden (Polluting Paradise aka Garbage in the Garden of Eden), Fatih Akin, Germany
Journal de France, Claudine Nougaret and Raymond Depardon, France
Les Invisibles, Sébastien Lifshitz, France
Le Serment de Tobrouk (The Oath of Tobruk), Bernard-Henri Lévy, France
Mekong Hotel, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Thailand
Roman Polanski: A Film Memoir, Laurent Bouzereau, UK and Germany
The Central Park Five, Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon, USA
*Trashed, Candida Brady, UK
*Villegas, Gonzalo Tobal, Argentina, Netherlands, and France

Midnight Screenings
愛と誠 Ai To Makoto (The Legend of Love & Sincerity), Takashi Miike, Japan
Dario Argento’s Dracula, Dario Argento, France, Spain and Italy
Maniac, Franck Khalfoun, USA and France
*The Sapphires, Wayne Blair, Australia

65th Anniversary
Une journée particulière, Gilles Jacob and Samuel Faure, France

*First Film, competes for Camera d’Or

Short Films Competition
Ce Chemin Devant Moi, Mohamed Bourokba (aka Hamé), France, 15’
Chef de Meute (Herd Leader), Chloé Robichaud, Canada, 13’
Cockaigne, Emilie Verhamme, Belgium, 13’
في المنافسة Falastein, Sandouk Al Intezar Lil Burtuqal (Waiting for P.O. Box), Bassam Chekhes, Syria, 15’
Gasp, Eicke Bettinga, Germany, 15’
Mi Santa Mirada, Alvaro Aponte-Centeno, Puerto Rico, 15’
Night Shift, Zia Mandviwalla, New Zealand, 14’
Sessiz-be Deng (Silent), L. Rezan Yeşilbaş, Turkey, 14’
The Chair, Grainger David, USA, 12’
Yardbird, Michael Spiccia, Australia, 13’

The Cinéfondation Selection
Fifteen films have been selected out of more than 1,700 submissions from 320 film schools across the globe. For the first time, a Lebanese school features in the selection, which covers fiction and animation and highlights films sharing the same film-making ambition and the expression of a very personal vision.

Abigail, Matthew James Reilly, NYU, USA, 17’
Derriere Moi Les Oliviers (Behind Me Olive Trees), Pascale Abou Jamra, ALBA, Lebanon, 20’
ДОРОГА НА Doroga na (The Road To), Taisia Igumentseva,VGIK, Russia, 32’
Head Over Heels, Timothy Reckart, NFTS, UK, 10’
Les Ravissements (The Raptures), Arthur Cahn, La Femis, France, 50’
Los Anfitriones (The Hosts), Miguel Angel Moulet, EICTV, Cuba, 16’
Matteus, Leni Huyghe, Sint-Lukas Brussels, Belgium, 18’
Pude ver un Puma (Could See a Puma), UCINE, Argentina, 17’
רסן – טריילר Resen (Dog Leash), Eti Tsicko, TAU, Israel, 26’
Riyoushi (The Barber), Shoichi Akio, Tokyo University of the Arts, Japan, 39’
Slug Invasion, Morten Helgeland, The Animation Workshop, Denmark, 6’
Tabara din Razoare (The Camp in Razoare), Cristi Iftime, UNATC, Romania, 22’
Tambylles, Michal Hogenauer, FAMU, Czech Republic, 58’
Terra (Land), Piero Messina, CSC, Italy, 23’
The Ballad of Finn + Yeti, Meryl O’Connor, UCLA, USA, 18’

Short Films and Cinéfondation Jury
President: Jean Pierre Dardene, director, scriptwriter and producer, Belgium
Karim Ainouz, director and scriptwriter, Brazil
Emmanuel Carrere, writer, scriptwriter and director, France
Arsinée Khanjian, actress, Canada
Yu Lik Wai, director of photography and filmmaker, China